SWEET FRESH DELICIOUS! The Kooks release remix album Hello, What’s Your Name?



Definitive UK rock band The Kooks have called on a plethora of stellar artists from across the musical spectrum for remix duties on their forthcoming remix album Hello, What’s Your Name?.

Presenting a fresh take on the band’s last album Listen this LP spans a number of genres and laments The Kooks’ reputation as a forward thinking act – every bit as current now as when they first erupted into the UK pop/rock scene in 2008 with multi-platinum debut album Inside In/Inside Out.

While spending time in New York, the band were blown away after hearing a number of DJs mixing their tracks. Then after witnessing the clubbers’ response to a 4/4 beat over their previously more rock orientated productions, they knew they had to pursue the idea of a club focused remix album – and the result is spectacular.

From the stripped back instrumentals on Isabella ‘Machine’ Summer’s ‘Forgive And Forget’ to the upfront house beat on Kove’s ‘Are We Electric’ rework, this album goes a long way to shine new light on The Kooks and allows fans old and new to re-experience the music that has made them the institution they have become.

With an exciting line up of artists having put their edits to wax including nineties dance pioneer DJ Pierre, The Future Sound of London’s Amorphous Androgynous, and the first ever remix to come from Atlas Genius, the track listing has been carefully crafted to bring out the best in The Kooks’ back catalogue.

Hello, What’s Your Name? gets its release today via Virgin EMI / Caroline Australia.


Track List
1. Creatures of Habit (Jack Beats Remix)
2. Bad Habit (Apexape Remix)
3. Sweet Emotion (Montmartre Remix)
4. Are We Electric (Kideko Remix)
5. Westside (Frank De Wulf Remix)
6. Sunrise (Midnitemen Remix)
7. Around Town (Max Pask & ‘Spiky’ Phil Meynell Remix)
8. Backstabber (XKH Remix)
9. Murdered & Downer (A Monstrous Psychedelic Bubble Remix by the Amorphous Androgynous)
10. Forgive & Forget (Isabella ‘Machine’ Summers Remix) Bonus Tracks
11. Westside (The Nextmen Remix)
12. Are We Electric (Kove)
13. Down (The Reflex Remix)
14. Dreams (DJ Pierre Remix)
15 Forgive & Forget (Atlas Genius Remix) – Digital only


Alistair is the founder of Bear Family. Alistair resides in Melbourne and can be found wandering the streets searching for bargains and peppermint tea. Come and say Hi, he's nice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *